Our Higher Education Administration Master's Degree

Available:
Hybrid Program (Online & In-person)

Next Start Date: 
August 24, 2020

Our M.Ed. in Higher Education Administration is well-suited for those who are seeking employment in higher education or already work in the education sector. Our program is one year during which you will gain the skills and knowledge required to fill leadership roles in a broad range of administrative positions in higher education, public or private, two or four-year schools.

This program focuses on a global view of higher education administration, which will prepare you to address the most critical and relevant issues faced in higher education today. You will gain knowledge in governance, organization, leadership, student affairs, enrollment management, finance, and the law.

Application Requirements & Deadline

An essay is required for admissions, find more about the admissions process and essay.

Application Deadline: August 17, 2020

Highlights

The program is designed so candidates are able to complete the program in one calendar year. The hybrid format allows candidates to learn from faculty and peers in face-to-face sessions four times a semester; these sessions are augmented by online course assignments and coursework each semester.

  • Practicum are established for candidates who do not currently work in a higher education setting. 
  • Cohort format 
  • Four class meetings each semester
  • Three consecutive semesters of classes (fall, spring, summer semesters) 

Program Schedule

Fall 2020

Application Deadline: Monday, August 17, 2020

Session 1: Sat., Aug. 29, & Sun. Aug. 30  
Session 2: Sat., Sept. 26  & Sun. Sept. 27
Session 3: Sat., Oct. 10 & Sun. Oct 11
Session 4: Sat.,Nov. 14 & Sun. Nov., 15
Session 5: Sat., Dec. 5 & Sun. Dec., 6

Spring 2021

Application Deadline: Monday, December 21, 2020

Session 1: Sat., Jan. 9, & Sun., Jan. 10 
Session 2: Sat., Jan. 30  & Sun., Jan. 11
Session 3: Sat., Feb. 20 & Sun., Feb. 21
Session 4: Sat., March 13 & Sun., March 14
Session 5: Sat., April 10 & Sun., April 11

Summer 2021

Application Deadline: Monday, April 26, 2021

Session 1: Sat., May 8 & Sun., May 9  
Session 2: Sat., June 5 & Sun., June 6
Session 3: Sat., June 26 & Sun., June 27
Session 4: Sat., July 17 & Sun., July 18
Session 5: Sat., Aug. 7 & Sun., Aug. 8

The program’s flexibility and online platform allows me to be a full-time employee as well as a full-time student.

Sena Nickles, ’20

After Graduation

Career Opportunities

Graduates of our program are employed in a variety of key administrative roles, including:

  • Dean of Students
  • Dean/Director of Residence Life
  • Director of Student Housing/Residence Hall Directors
  • Director of Student Affairs 
  • Various Directorships on campuses (Multicultural Education, Greek Life, etc,; varies by campus)

Job Placements

Some recent job placements for our graduates include:

  • Clemson University – Admissions Counselor
  • Columbia College – Student Services
  • Columbia College – Assistant Director of Student Success

Higher Education Administration Areas of Study

MASTER'S COURSE REQUIREMENTS